Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Dhoni and Gambhir Selected to the Final list of Players for ICC Cricket Awards

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Delhi opener Gautam Gambhir, England captain Andrew Strauss and Australian bowler Mitchell Johnson have been selected in two types of categories for this year's International Cricket Council awards.

The quartets are all nominees for cricketer of the year while Gambhir, Strauss and Johnson are also in disputation for test cricketer of the year.

Dhoni is on the shortlist for the one-day cricketer of the year award he won last year.

Strauss lead England from the front to a memorable home Ashes series win over Australia while Gambhir and Johnson were plentiful during the year from August last year, the period considered for the prizes, an ICC release said on Tuesday.

Sri Lanka batsman Thilan Samaraweera, who continued his form on return from injury sustained when the team bus was trapped by gunmen in Lahore in March, will also vie for the test player's award.

The one-day player shortlist features Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj Singh and Caribbean batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Pakistan's Shahid Afridi and Umar Gul top the list for Twenty20 performances after steering the team to the World Cup in England this year.

Sri Lankan batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan, whose modern shots lit up the tournament, and West Indies captain Chris Gayle have also been selected for their performances in the event.

Awards will also be given for promising player, women's cricketer and umpire of the year in Johannesburg on Oct. 1.

The test and one-day teams of the year will also be selected and an award given to the team who has remains most to the spirit of cricket.

No comments: