Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Young West Indies Team

West Indies have included a pair of new players to their 14-member team for the first two ODI Internationals at West Indies in opposition to Bangladesh following the washout 2-0 defeat in the Test series.

While the batting line-up will be boosted up by the enclosure of left-hand batsman Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher and Kieran Powell, the bowling has been equipped with the selection of leg spinner Rawl Lewis and the draftee fast bowler Gavin Tonge.

Smith, who lastly performed in an ODI back in April 2008, in opposition to Sri Lanka at home, was selected for the tour of England in April-May this year. Fletcher, who put back Chadwick Walton as wicketkeeper from the Test squad, was dropped after unsatisfactory performances in the World Twenty20. His 53 in the first match against Australia was followed by 13 and three straight ducks.

Powell, 19, who call over from the small island of Nevis, has been pleased for the performance he has shown in National competitions. He has the status of being a clean protester of the ball and was part of the West Indies team for the 2008 Under-19 World Cup in Malaysia. He scored 253 runs at 42.16, with a strike rate of 124, which made him the second-highest scorer in the tournament.

Another steady performer on the domestic track has been the 26-year-old Tonge. He has executed well with the ball for Leeward Islands, and is also a helpful lower-order batsman.

Ryan Austin, Tino Best, Ryan Hinds, Kevin McClean, and Omar Phillips were among the players who missed out from the Test squad.

The first two ODIs will be played at Windsor Park in Dominica on July 26 and 28. St Kitts will host the third and final match on July 31, as well as the only Twenty20 international two days later.

Team of Caribbean’s: Floyd Reifer (caption), Darren Sammy, David Bernard, Travis Dowlin, Andre Fletcher (wk), Rawl Lewis, Nikita Miller, Nelon Pascal, Kieran Powell, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Devon Smith, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge.

No comments: