Thursday, July 23, 2009

Tickets Sale Commence Tomorrow for ICC Champions Trophy

Tickets for the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 in South Africa go on deal tomorrow with prices guarantee immense worth for the spectators.

With tickets to stare at the world’s best cricketers going on issue for as least cost as R35 (US$4.50) and with the majority luxurious ticket for the final attractive just R140 (US$18), this top-class occasion gives the cricket-loving people of South Africa, as well as for the traveling supporters, the possibility to see their players without having to hollow out deep in their pockets.

"The ICC is aware of the requirements to present worth for money to supporters of our immense sport and we feel these ticket prices are enormously levelheaded, said David Richardson, ICC General Manager, Cricket, who attended the ticket launch in Johannesburg today.

"It’s not every day you get to watch the pinnacle players in the world for R35 so this presents a huge occasion for the cricket-loving people of South Africa and in a different place of the world to see the world’s best players in action," he said.

"This is an esteemed occasion with just the peak eight-ranked teams challenging. There is more prize money at stake than ever before, ticket prices have been kept low and yet we are scheduled the matches at two world-class cricket grounds. All this adds up to what we anticipate to be a charming event and a great cricketing show."

The tickets go on for sale at 0900 tomorrow (South Africa time) and can be obtained mainly through the event website at Fans can also reserve their tickets through Computicket by telephone on +2783 915 8000 or by plummeting in to any one of Computicket`s offices at hundreds of spots around South Africa. Tickets, including those for the grass banks, can also be purchased straight away from the two stadiums at The Wanderers (Tel: +2711 340 1509) and Centurion (Tel: +2712 663 1005 extn 7).

Ticket sales will be held in three periods. Phase one begins tomorrow (24 July) and consists of all matches in the competition up to 26 September. Phase two begins on 17 August and includes all matches up to 30 September and phase three begins on 21 September and involves tickets for the two semi-finals and the final.

Mr. Richardson said "This short, exhilarating event, with its new format concerning only the top eight-ranked sides in the world competing head to head, should be a unbelievable cricket show to follow on from the others that have already taken place in the ICC’s centennial year.”

"I think that given the excellence of contest and the low prices, ICC Champions Trophy rivals any other major sporting event taking place this year in terms of entertainment value.”

"Credit goes to our commercial and broadcast agreements the ICC Champions Trophy generates important funds for our associates which allow them to grow the game in their own communities, and that gives it additional worth beyond the esteem of the title itself."

For the initial time the ICC CT will feature only the top eight teams in the world in the only global multi-team 50-over-a-side tournament between the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup in the Caribbean and the next version of that event, in the Asian sub-continent in two years` time.

Those teams- Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, hosts South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies have been divided into two groups of four teams, with the top two from each group succeeding to the semi-finals arena.

The battle begins on Tuesday 22 September with hosts team South Africa in action in opposition to Sri Lanka in a day-night match at Centurion and it will end with a day-night final at the same venue on Monday 5 October.

The current Champions Australia begins the defence of its ICC CT crown against the West Indies in a repeat of the 2006 final.

That match will take place as a day match at The Wanderers, Johannesburg on Saturday 26 September and is part of a blockbuster day of action as, later on, India and Pakistan will go head-to-head in a day-night encounter at Centurion.

The ICC Champions Trophy starts as the ICC Knock-Out in 1998 and was played every two years through to 2006, changing its name for the 2002 version.

The sides to have won the event are South Africa (in Bangladesh, 1998), New Zealand (Kenya, 2000), India and Sri Lanka (joint winners after the final was washed out in Sri Lanka, 2002), the West Indies (England, 2004) and Australia (India, 2006).

No comments: