Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Champions League T20 launched

The second edition of the multi-million dollar Champions League Twenty20 was launched here in a glittering function attended by top officials of Cricket South Africa and star players including retired spin wizard Muttiah Muralitharan.

CSA president Dr. Nyoka, secretary Gerald Majola and CLT20 CEO Sundar Raman unveiled the glittering trophy at a city hotel on Tuesday night.

South African players Jean-Paul Duminy, Alviro Petersen, Albie Morkel, Wayne Parnell and Makhya Ntini were also present. Mr. Raman said India will continue to be represented in future by three teams while two teams from Australia and South Africa, the two other founder members, will take part.

“We have a 10-year contract with ESPN Star Sports. The number of matches will remain 23 but regarding the increase in number of teams that is the decision of CLT20 council. Three teams from India, two each from South SAfrica and Australia will take part in future tournaments also. The other teams were on invitational basis,” he said.

No comments: