Wednesday, October 14, 2009

The Team India Selection To be made tomarrow for & ODI against Australia

After the Champions Trophy devastation, the the BCCI Selection Committee chaired by K Srikkanth and skipper M S Dhoni will meet here again tomorrow to pick the Indian team for the first two matches of the ensuing seven match ODI series against Australia starting October 25 at Vadodara.

According to BCCI sources, the committee, headed by Srikkanth is expected to shepherd in a couple of changes in the wake of some of the players failing to prove their worth.

Yuvraj Singh, subject to proving his fitness and Virender Sehwag who missed the Champions Trophy in South Africa but recovered from injury to play in the Champions League T-20, were expected to return to the team, in place of Yusuf Pathan, who scored just 71 runs in the last ten matches.

Sachin Tendulkar, Suresh Raina, Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli, who was sent as replacement for Yuvraj for the Champions Trophy, are expected to maintain their places.

Rahul Dravid, who made a come back into the team after a two year break, is expected to be rested for the home series.

Considering the good performances of some players in the recently finished Irani trophy and the Challenger series, some changes are likely in the bowling department, the sources indicated.

Pacer Ishant Sharma, in all probability was likely to be rested and Uttar Pradesh bowler Sudeep Tyagi, who had performed well in Irani Trophy, is expected get the nod.

While Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh will retain his place in the team, it would be a toss up between Amit Mishra and left arm spinner Pragyan Ojha for the second spinner's slot.

Following his fine show with the bat in the Irani Trophy, Ravindra Jadeja's name is also expected to figure in the discussions along with Mumbai's Abhishek Nayyar if the Selectors decide to have an all-rounder in place of Yusuf Pathan.

With Ishant likely to be rested and his new ball partner Zaheer yet to recover from injury, the selection committee would take into account the current performance of Asish Nehra, R P Singh, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel and Sudeep Tyagi before finalising the list.

No comments: