Thursday, May 28, 2009

Sri Lankan Team for T20 World Cup 2009

Sri Lanka named uncapped all-rounder Isuru Udana in a 15-man squad for next month’s Twenty20 World Cup in England.

The competition will be the first tour since the team came under a terrorist attack in Pakistan while playing in a test series in March.

Seven cricketers and one coach were injured when their bus was ambushed by gunmen as the team traveled to a match against Pakistan at Lahore. Six police officers and the driver of a van taking match officials were killed in the attack.

Kumar Sangakkara will go in front the Sri Lanka team for the first time as captain in England, which is hosting the Twenty20 World Cup from June 5 2009 to June 21 2009.

Sri Lanka team: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain ), Muttiah Muralitharan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Silva, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana, Farveez Maharoof, Jehan Mubarak, Indika de Seram.

No comments: