Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Sri Lanka sets India 237 to win

Sachin Tendulkar will continue his pursuit of a 100th international century as India chases a victory target of 237 against Sri Lanka in a tri-series limited-overs international.

Sri Lanka recovered from two early setbacks to reach 236-9 in Tuesday’s tri-series match, with No. 4 Dinesh Chandimal run out for 81 after sharing important partnerships of 51 for the third wicket with Kumar Sangakkara (31) and 94 for the fourth with skipper Mahela Jayawardene (43).

Vinay Kumar took a wicket in the last over and returned the best bowling figures of 3-46 for India. Ravichandran Ashwin took 2-30.

Tendulkar was recalled after being rested for Sunday’s four-wicket win over Australia. The leading batsman in cricket hasn’t posted a century since March.

Sri Lanka hasn’t won a match yet in the series and, after winning the toss and electing to bat, didn’t get away to a positive start.

Vinay Kumar had Upul Tharanga caught behind off the second ball and recalled paceman Irfan Pathan had Tillekeratne Dilshan (16) also caught by Mahendra Singh Dhoni as Sri Lanka struggled to 28-2 in the eight over.

Chandimal and Sangakkara set about slowly recovering the innings and took the total to 79 before Sangakkara got a leading edge as he charged at Ashwin in the 20th over and was caught at point.

Chandimal and Jayawardene both made important contributions before falling within seven deliveries as Sri Lanka lost three wickets for 11 runs. Kumar broke the partnership when he trapped Jayawardene lbw as he returned to the attack in the 37th over. The 22-year-old Chandimal stroked six fours and a six before he was run out to make the total 178-5.

Two overs and only six runs later, Ashwin had Thisara Perera (5) caught at deep mid-off attempting to hit out.

Angelo Mathews (17), whose attempted quick single resulted in Chandimal’s dismissal, was run out himself after guiding Sri Lanka to 210—7 in the 47th over. Sachithra Senanayake scored 22 from 14 balls and was unbeaten at the end of the innings.

No comments: