Wednesday, March 02, 2011

England elect to bat against Ireland in World Cup

England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and elected to bat in their World Cup Group B match against Ireland at M Chinnaswamy stadium here today.

England have replaced Ajmal Shahzad with Stuart Broad, who had to sit out of the pulsating encounter against India due to an upset stomach.

Ireland made two changes in the team. Andre Botha, who bowled well against Bangladesh, was dropped at the last moment as he injured his groin during the pre-match practice. Gary Wilson has replaced him in the side, while Alex Cusack replaced Andrew White.


England: Andrew Strauss, Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Matt Prior, Michael Yardy, Tim Bresnan, Greame Swann, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

Ireland: William Porterfield, Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O'Brien, Alex Cusack, Kevin O'Brien, Gary Wilson, John Mooney, Trent Johnston, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin.

No comments: